Waterloo International Master’s Award of Excellence in Canada

Waterloo International Master’s Award of Excellence

The University of Waterloo is offering an international master’s scholarship known as the Waterloo International Master’s Award of Excellence (IMAE). The award is designed for international students who intend to undertake Masters’s degree programs that are research-based, at the University of Waterloo. The University Faculties will select qualified students based on the Faculty’s award allocation. Students will be nominated based on exceptional academic excellence as displayed through their application for admission to the graduate program.

The University of Waterloo is a public research university in Ontario, Canada. It was founded in 1960 and offers undergraduate and graduate programs in areas including engineering, computing, science, and business. The University of Waterloo is known for its focus on experiential learning, community engagement, internationalism, and entrepreneurship.

The university’s main campus is located in Waterloo, Ontario. It also has a satellite campus in Singapore and three other campuses across the province of Ontario: two campuses at Guelph (opened in 2014), one at Kitchener (opened in 2007) and one at Cambridge (opened in 2015).

The University of Waterloo is one of Canada’s most comprehensive universities, with a student population of more than 48,000. It is home to more than 5,500 faculty members and staff, some of whom have been recognized as world-class researchers by organizations including the Canadian Research Council and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council. The university has established programs in more than 150 disciplines, including engineering, music therapy and architecture.

See also  Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships (Vanier CGS)

The university has been ranked among the top 100 universities in the world by Times Higher Education magazine. The institution offers more than 300 undergraduate programs and 160 graduate programs across eight faculties: Arts; Business Administration; Computer Science; Engineering; Health Sciences; Mathematics & Statistics; Science; Social Sciences & Humanities.

Waterloo is known for its strong commitment to social responsibility and innovation that drives innovation in business and society for the betterment of all people in Ontario and beyond.” You can also check the financial aid for international students in Canada.

Brief Description of the Waterloo International Master’s Award of Excellence

Scholarship Location: Canada

Scholarship Host: University of Waterloo

Course/Level of Study: Research-based Masters’s degree in any subject

See also  DAAD Scholarship in Germany | Fully Funded

Eligible Countries: International students from all over the world

Worth of Scholarship: The scholarship award is valued at $2,500 per term for a maximum of 5 terms.

Eligibility Criteria Waterloo International Master’s Award of Excellence

  • International students who are registered full-time and assessed international tuition fees.
  • Normally given to students in research-based programs (thesis or major research paper).
  • Will normally only be given to students entering the first term of their program (term 1.0).
  • Students must demonstrate academic excellence through criteria established by the Faculty.
  • Students must meet the academic progress requirements of their program and not have outstanding probationary admission requirements.
  • This award could be in addition to other internal or external scholarships (e.g., UW Graduate Scholarship, OGS,  etc). Note: scholarships are different than sponsorships – see next bullet.
  • Normally, students should not be concurrently receiving foreign government or agency sponsorship (e.g., China Scholarship Council, Libyan sponsorship, etc) or be fully or partially self-funded in excess of the Faculty minimum levels of support.
  • Students grandparented under the existing IMSA program cannot be nominated for an IMAE; however, a student previously awarded an IMSA for a previously completed master’s degree can be nominated for an IMAE.
  • Students will be automatically considered for this award based on their application for admission. Departments and/or Faculty will define their own internal process by which they select recipients based on the eligibility criteria and allocation.
  • Faculties may impose stricter eligibility criteria as appropriate.
See also  Best Ways to Secure Scholarships in Canada

Method of Application

To apply for the Waterloo International Master’s Award of Excellence, applicants are instructed to do the following:

Students will be automatically considered for this award based on their application for admission; hence no separate scholarship application is required. Departments and/or Faculties will select the students and nominate them for the scholarship. The application deadline for most Masters’s programs commencing September 2023 falls from January to February 2023.

For more information on how to apply, visit the official scholarship website below.

Official Scholarship Website

Originally posted 2022-06-16 20:34:06.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *